Author Archives: Ray Palen

Book Review: Isis – Author Douglas Clegg

isis

ISIS Written by Douglas Clegg Published by: Vanguard Press Publication Date: 2009 Format: Black / White – 128 pages Price: $14.95 The Egyptian goddess Isis was known as the goddess of simplicity, protector of the dead and goddess of children from whom all beginnings arose. Later Egyptian myths told of the Nile River flooding annually as a result of the tears shed by Isis over the death of her husband, Osiris. The occurrence of Osiris’ … Continue reading

1 Comment

Book Review: Patient Zero – Author Jonathan Maberry

PatientZero

PATIENT ZERO Author Jonathan Maberry Published by St. Martin’s Griffin Publication Date: 2009 Format: Black / White – 421 pages Price: $14.95 To label “Patient Zero” a mere zombie-novel is to do it terrible injustice. Multiple Bram Stoker Award-winning author Jonathan Maberry has deftly woven a fictional tale that is not bound just to the horror genre. With “Patient Zero” the reader is treated to a blend of styles ranging from pure horror to military/techno thriller. … Continue reading

3 Comments

Book Review: Sparrow Rock – Author Nate Kenyon

Sparrow_Rock

SPARROW ROCK Author Nate Kenyon Published by: Leisure Books Publication Date: 2010 Format: Black / White – 322 pages Price: $7.99 In a short period of time, Nate Kenyon has quickly become one of the most respected writers in the field of horror fiction today. What makes Kenyon’s novels stand out from the horror fiction pack is his writing style. His characters are always well developed, plot lines are tight and his books are written … Continue reading

3 Comments

Book Review: Ancestor – Author Scott Sigler

Ancestor

ANCESTOR Written by Scott Sigler Published by: Crown Books Publication Date: 2009 Format: Black /White – 432 pages Price: $24.99 Scott Sigler’s 2007 novel, ANCESTOR, was originally produced exclusively in audio format and, at that time, became the world’s most-popular “podcast novel”. A serialized audio book delivered in 20 weekly episodes played to an initial audience of more than 30,000 fans and has been ultimately downloaded by more than 700,000. Regrettably, the transition from podcast … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Passage – Author Justin Cronin

The_Passage

Written by Justin Cronin Published by: Ballantine Books Publication Date: 2010 Format: Black / White – 784 pages Price: $27.00 The most anticipated novel of this summer — and possibly all of 2010 — is Justin Cronin’s THE PASSAGE. Following the current trend of ‘vampire fiction’ he has penned an epic novel in the tradition of Stephen King’s THE STAND and Robert McCammon’s SWAN SONG. At 760+ pages, this epic tome is purported to be the first … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Sculptor – Author Gregory Funaro

The_Sculptor

Written by Gregory Funaro Published by: Pinnacle Fiction Publication Date: 2010 Format: Black / White – 385 pages Price: $6.99 In 1981, Thomas Harris wrote a novel entitled “Red Dragon” and a monster was created. I’m not just referring to the character of Hannibal Lecter — who went on to star in three more Harris novels, most famously “The Silence Of the Lambs” — but the official birth of the serial killer genre of fiction. Even though … Continue reading

1 Comment