web analytics
Home | News | Frazetta and Shores Announced as Inkwell Awards’ 2023 Lifetime Achievement

Frazetta and Shores Announced as Inkwell Awards’ 2023 Lifetime Achievement

The Inkwell Awards, a non-profit devoted to promoting the art of comic book inking, has announced the winners of their lifetime achievement awards, The Joe Sinnott Hall Of Fame and The Stacey Aragon Special Recognition Award (SASRA). Each is chosen internally by the Inkwell Awards’ committee. The first is limited to two individuals and the second up to four, both for a minimum career span of 25 years inking American comic books.

The two winners of Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award are Frank Frazetta and Syd Shores. Frazetta also won a SASRA in 2021.

Winners of the SASRA, in alphabetical order, are Danny Bulanadi, Reed Crandall and Dave Simons.

Joe Sinnott’s son, Mark, shared the following statement:

“This year’s recipients of the Inkwell’s Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award are two giants in the industry. We are pleased to welcome Frank Frazetta and Syd Shores to this elite group.

“Frank Frazetta (1928-2010) is most notably known for his wonderful paintings of sci-fi and fantasy, but also for his comic book work starting in the mid 1940s, doing pencils and inks for Prize, Standard, Dell and EC Comics among others. For nine years he also ghosted Al Capp’s Li’l Abner. He would later do black and white stories as well as cover paintings for Warren Publishing.

“Syd Shores (1916-1973) was best known for his work on the Captain America comic books both in the Golden Age (1940s) and Silver Age (1960s) of comics, both times inking the work of legendary penciller Jack Kirby. Syd would also pencil and ink numerous superhero, horror and western stories for Marvel Comics during the ’60s and early ’70s.

I know that my dad, Joe, would be thrilled to have these 2 fabulous artists join the list of members in the

Inkwell Awards Hall of Fame.”


Syd Shores daughter, Nancy Shores Karlebach, shared a statement on video.

Frazetta’s son, Frank Frazetta Jr., shared a combined photo statement earlier on February 9, and his granddaughter, Sara Frazetta, part of The Frazetta Girls group, will share a special reminiscence at the Inkwell site in the near future. Danny Bulanadi’s widow, Marissa Bulanadi, shared a video statement. For Nancy Shores Karlebach and Bette Simons’ full statements, they can be found on the Inkwell Awards’ website.

At press time, no member of the Crandall estate or family could be reached for comment. Bob Almond, The Inkwells’ founder and director, requested anyone from either or with information to contact him via the site or on social media.

The Inkwell Awards is the only official 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to promote and educate regarding the art form of comic-book inking, as well as annually recognize the best ink artists and their work. Established in 2008, the Inkwells are overseen by a volunteer committee of industry professionals and assisted by various professional ambassadors and contributors. They sponsor the Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Kubert School and host the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.