web analytics
Home | Culture | Music | ALICE, SWEET ALICE Soundtrack Album Coming from Waxwork Records

ALICE, SWEET ALICE Soundtrack Album Coming from Waxwork Records

It has taken forty-five years, but one of the best soundtrack scores ever composed for a thriller is finally being released. The fine folks at Waxwork Records are now taking preorders for the imminent release of Stephen Lawrence’s creepy score to Alfred Sole’s 1976 thriller Communion, known to horror fans alternatively as Alice, Sweet Alice and Holy Terror.

From the press release:

Waxwork Records is thrilled to present the debut release of ALICE, SWEET ALICE Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by Stephen Lawrence. Alice, Sweet Alice is a 1976 American Slasher-Horror film directed by Alfred Sole and starring Brooke Shields in her film debut. Set in 1961 New Jersey, the film focuses on a troubled adolescent girl who becomes the suspect in the brutal murder of her younger sister at her first communion, as well as in a series of unsolved stabbings that follow.

In the years since its release, Alice, Sweet Alice has gained a cult following and is considered a contemporary classic of the slasher sub-genre in critical circles. It has also been the focus of scholarship in the areas of horror film studies, particularly regarding its depictions of Roman Catholicism, child emotional neglect, and the disintegration of the American nuclear family.

The film’s chilling score was composed by Stephen Lawrence. Lawrence is an American composer that has scored more than 300 songs and musical cues for Sesame Street, resulting in three Emmy Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Music Direction and Composition. The music of Alice, Sweet Alice features heavy usage of dissonant strings, repetitive keys, church organ, and motifs that segue from eerily mischievous and playful to dread inducing and utterly haunting.

Available for the very first time in any format, the complete soundtrack to Alice, Sweet Alice comes available on 180 gram “Yellow Rain Coat with Blood Red Splatter”, deluxe packaging with new artwork by Steven Reeves, old style tip-on gatefold jackets, a heavyweight insert, exclusive composer liner notes, and original recording session photography.

ALICE, SWEET ALICE Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Features:

  • The Complete Film Music By Stephen Lawrence
  • Available for the First Time
  • 180 Gram “Yellow Raincoat with Blood Red Splatter” Colored Vinyl
  • Full Package Artwork by Steven Reeves
  • Old Style Tip-On Gatefold Jackets
  • Heavyweight Printed Inserts
  • Exclusive Composer Liner Notes
  • Original 1976 Recording Session Photography

Can we hope for soundtrack albums to Let’s Scare Jessica to Death (1971), Terror Train (1980), Hell Night (1981), Ghostkeeper (1981), Curtains (1983) and The Keep (1983)?

Click here to preorder the Alice, Sweet Alice soundtrack album.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.