web analytics
Home | Winning films of 11th annual Sydney Horror and Sci-fi Film Festivals

Winning films of 11th annual Sydney Horror and Sci-fi Film Festivals

2017 Winners of A Night of Horror and Fantastic Planet Film Festivals

Sydney, Australia, December 6, 2017 – The winners of the 2017 A Night of Horror Film Festival and Fantastic Planet Film Festival are announced.

Presented by Deadhouse Films, the 11th annual A Night of Horror International Film Festival and Fantastic Planet, Sydney Sci-Fi and Fantasy Film Festival showcased a stunning array of the latest and greatest horror, sci-fi, thriller and fantasy films from around the globe. Here are the winning films from the 2017 event:

Norbet Keil’s gorgeously gruesome body horror REPLACE took A Night of Horror’s “Best Film” award. While Brazilian filmmaker Samuel Galli captured “Best Director” for his confronting serial killer / supernatural chiller OUR EVIL. That film’s mesmerising lead actor, Ademir Esteves, won the award for “Best Male Performance”. And the “Best Female Performance” award was given to Dafna Kronental for her stunning performance in the beautifully lensed and terrifying Australian outback nightmare THE MARSHES. A Night of Horror’s “Independent Spirit Award” for a feature film was captured by the riotous Ozploitation flick MUSCLECAR.

But the biggest winner of the festival was the mesmerising Australian/Albanian co-production BLOODLANDS. The haunting film focuses upon a traditional Albanian family, coming to terms with modernity. But their domestic problems seem insignificant when the family find themselves drawn into a horrific blood feud with a witch and her kin. BLOODLANDS took out three of the fest’s major awards: “Best Foreign Language Film”, “Best Australian Film”, and “Best Australian Director” for Steven Kastrissios.

Fantastic Planet Film Festival’s top honour, “Best Film”, was won by the terrifying yet deeply moving post-apocalyptic thriller HOSTILE.  The film’s French director, Mathieu Turi also won the award for “Best Director”, which, in a split jury decision, was shared with Uganda’s Nabwana I.G.G., director of the hilarious action adventure, and international festival hit BAD BLACK. While the fest’s “Independent Spirit Award” was captured by the high-octane thrill-ride SIXTY MINUTES TO MIDNIGHT. Robert Nolan, the film’s lead, and one of the brightest lights in Canada’s vibrant acting scene, took the “Best Male Performance” award in a unanimous jury decision.

A Night of Horror’s “Best Short Film” was awarded to the pulse-charging survival horror LEVEL. The festival’s “Best Animated Short Film” award was won by the brutal French anime FIERCE. While atmospheric and masterful SOUND FROM THE DEEP from Finland won “Best Lovecraft Short Film”. The audience choice award for “Best Australian Short Film” went to the chill-inducing I’M SORRY MUMMY. And “Best Music Video” was awarded to the twisted MUUY BIIEN – MORAL COMPASS from director Benjamin Roberds. The festival’s inaugural “Best Web or TV Content” was taken by the nightmarish US short STEREOSCOPE. And the fest’s “Independent Spirit Award” for a short film went to the shocking and bloody Canadian short STUDDED NIGHTMARE.

Fantastic Planet’s “Best Short Film” was taken by the Spanish techno-terror thriller iMEDIUM. While “Best Animated Short Film” was won by the enchanting CORKY from the USA. Audience choice award for “Best Australian Short Film” went to the hilarious social satire DIRT TIN. The winner of “Best Music Video” was director Kim Pommel’s visually captivating A LOVE LIKE PI – JACK AND THE GIANT. The Finnish time-spanning sci-fi web series END UNSUNG won “Best Web or TV Content”. And Fantastic Planet’s “Independent Spirit Award” for a short film was awarded to the twisting sci-fi thriller REM from New Zealand’s April Phillips.

Both festivals also host screenplay competitions. The winner of A Night of Horror’s feature screenplay competition was FRIDAY NIGHT FRENZY by Richard Stringham. The competition’s 1st runner-up was Neil Chase’s DEAD STRAYS. The 2nd runner-up was CLARITY by Ariana Kenny. A Night of Horror’s short screenplay winner was LOST MAN by Guy Harvey. That competition’s 1st runner-up was Noah Pfister’s ROADKILL. And the second runner-up was CANNIBAL MOTHER by Jacob Schefer.

The winner of Fantastic Planet’s feature screenplay competition was TRANSCARLET by James Ross. The 1st runner-up was STORMCATCHERS by Mike Donald. Ana Ziegle Loes’ F7/F2 captured the 2nd-runner up spot. Fantastic Planet’s short screenplay competition was won by Daniel Earney and Dio Traverso’s JACK RABBIT. While AN IRON SHELL OF RITUAL by Jeff Racho took the competitions 1st runner-up spot.  And the competition’s 2nd runner-up was THE INFINITE AND THE DIVINE by Krystyna Łoboda and Derek Weissbein.

For more information visit: www.anightofhorror.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.