Blood of the Bean literary event: October 16th

Love me some books..

Second annual BLOOD OF THE BEAN literary event descends on Austin, Texas October 16th at Kick Butt Coffee.

For the second year in a row some of central Texas’ most intriguing authors will gather once again to share their recent work. From 5pm to 9pm at Kick Butt Coffee in Austin, Texas the thirteen writers will each perform fifteen minute dramatic readings from short stories to novel excerpts, that will be certain to chill the hearts and minds of all attending. Participating authors include Lee Thomas, Joe McKinney, Gabrielle Faust, Nate Southard, D. B. Grady, Ethan Nahate, Stina Leicht, Skyler White, Robert Stikmanz, Rhodi Hawk, Hank Schwaeble, Denise Broussard and Frank Summers. The wide variety of styles and influences from the collaborative of literary voices represents a distinct cross-section representation of the strength of today’s Texas writers in the horror and dark fantasy genres. All authors will have copies of their current and past work on hand for purchase and signing.

“Wow! Usually, one would have to visit the maximum-security wing of a state penitentiary to find so much imaginative energy dedicated to violence and mayhem gathered in one place. Who could resist such a treat?” Hank Schwaeble, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of “Damnable”, replied when asked about his participation in the 2010 event.

“My original intention in the creation of the BLOOD OF THE BEAN event in 2009 was to give local dark genre authors an additional opportunity to reach a new audience they might otherwise not had access to. Kick Butt Coffee provides a relaxed, yet highly creative atmosphere that is conducive to facilitating the promotion of indie arts in Austin. The meshing of the horror/dark fantasy genres with an already integral venue was a natural fit and after a successful debut event, the demand was there, not only from the audience, but from the authors as well, to make it an annual gathering.” Remarked BBII founder Gabrielle Faust, author of the acclaimed post-apocalyptic vampire series “Eternal Vigilance”.

As aforementioned, BLOOD OF THE BEAN II will take place at Kick Butt Coffee on October 16, 2010 from 5pm to 9pm. 5775 Airport Blvd. More information on Kick Butt Coffee can be found at http://kickbuttcoffee.com/. Kick Butt Coffee not only serves some of the best coffee Austin has to offer, but also provides a full bar and limited, but delicious, food menu. Happy Hour is from 4:15pm – 7:15pm with $4 Mocha Martinis and $1.50 Lone Stars. As author Rhodi Hawk said herself, “Scary stories and mocha martinis! Witching season has gone civilized!” Or has it?

For more information on the thirteen participating authors:

Lee Thomas: http://www.leethomasauthor.com/
Joe McKinney: http://joemckinney.wordpress.com/
Rhodi Hawk: http://www.rhodihawk.com/
Hank Schwaeble: http://www.hankschwaeble.com/
Gabrielle Faust: http://www.gabriellefaust.com
Nate Southard: http://www.natesouthard.com/
D. B. Grady: http://dbgrady.com/
Ethan Nahate: http://nahteboy.tripod.com/
Stina Leicht: http://www.csleicht.com/
Skyler White: http://www.skylerwhite.com/
Robert Stikmanz: http://www.robertstikmanz.com/
Denise Broussard: website coming soon!
Frank Summers: http://www.franksummers.com/

Source: horrorsociety

This entry was posted in Events | Horror Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Also, if you like following updates on industry Horror News..
Make sure to subscribe to our RSS Feed!

About The Angry Princess


Connect with me on Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Articles of Interest from Web