Home | Book Reviews (page 8)

Book Reviews

Book Review: Ominous Realities – Editors Anthony Rivera | Sharon Lawson


OMINOUS REALITIES Edited by Anthony Rivera and Sharon Lawson Grey Matter Press 317 Pages A collection of sixteen tales with a common theme surrounding the twisted, macabre and often sinister tendencies in post-apocalyptic times: How To Make A Human By Martin Rose-A robot named Romeo Dyer learns there are consequences to playing God even after Armageddon. Angie By John F.D. ...

Read More »

Book Review: Wild and Wistful, Dark and Dreaming – Author Alethea Kontis

Princesses are not meant to pickup slimy, spit covered things from an animal’s mouth, especially if that animal is a scary ghost-demon wearing a crown of smoldering napalm. -“Diary of a Ghost’s Mistress” Before anything else is said, please note that both the title and cover art are at best uninspired and are not particularly representative of the contents. Remember ...

Read More »

Book Review: Gory Hole: A Horror Triple Bill – Author Craig Wallwork

Craig Wallwork is a writer with skills, an author of two novels (To Die Upon a Kiss and the much celebrated The Sound of Loneliness) as well as a short story collection (Quintessence of Dust). In April of this year, Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing will be releasing his newest effort, a chapbook in the tradition of Creepshow and Tales From ...

Read More »

Book Review: Fantastic Earth Destroyer Ultra Plus – Author Cameron Pierce

Sinister Grin Press is known for releasing some fantastically nasty, gruesome horror books from some equally fantastic and disturbing authors (Wrath James White, Nate Southard, Jack Ketchum, and Monica O’Rourke, to name just a few). So when I say that their newest release, Fantastic Earth Destroyer Ultra Plus, is an illustrated fairy tale for adults, don’t get the wrong idea. ...

Read More »

Book Review: The Road to Nowhere – Author Lee Argus


THE ROAD TO NOWHERE By: Lee Argus Permuted Press Publishing 113 Pages A man awakens within the confines of a desolate, abandoned hospital only to realize he has amnesia. Struggling to stay alive he flees the institution while desperately trying to unravel the mystery of his past while thwarting the clutches of the walking dead infesting civilization. Will he unveil ...

Read More »

Book Review: The Little Boy Inside and Other Stories – Author Glenn Gray

The Little Boy Inside

The Little Boy Inside and Other Stories – by Glenn Gray Concord ePress, 2013 Hello, my name is Sean, and I sometimes suffer from what I have decided to call extreme hypochondria. It’s not a constant, and it’s not something that affects my daily life, but it is there nonetheless. It’s not that I always think I’m sick; on the ...

Read More »

Book Review: The New Black – Editor Richard Thomas

The New Black

The New Black – edited by Richard Thomas Dark House Press, 2014 Sometimes I forget that there are big-time, majors in the world of book publishing, because it seems like everything good is coming out of the indies. Between the titles coming out of established indies like Lazy Fascist Press, Sinister Grin Press, and Samhain Publishing (just to name a ...

Read More »

Book Review: Empire of the B’s – Author Dave Jay

EMPIRE OF THE B’S: THE MAD MOVIE WORLD OF CHARLES BAND Author: Dave Jay Hemlock Books This is a wondrous book which needs to be purchased with the utmost urgency. An expansive, comprehensive and utterly engrossing work of cult film perfection, this is a definitive work on one of genre cinema’s greatest – and most debated – characters. Covering the ...

Read More »

Book Review: Clusterf*ck – Author Carlton Mellick III


When it comes to Carlton Mellick III, I have difficulty deciding where to start. Clusterf*ck is one of five books released in 2013 by one of the most prolific authors of our time (including the highly praised Quicksand House), alongside five additional re-releases. Mellick has now released over forty books and shows no signs of slowing. He is often considered ...

Read More »

Book Review: Tankbread – Author Paul E Mannering


TANKBREAD By: Paul E Mannering Permuted Press Publishing 236 Pages Society has certainly changed since the apocalypse. The few remaining humans in civilization have become either slaves or prey unto the reanimated corpses known as Evols. At the mercy of the undead one has the choice of either succumbing to the hands of zombies or becoming food. Small town leader ...

Read More »

Book Review: Strangers – Author Michaelbrent Collings


STRANGERS By Michaelbrent Collings 372 Pages An eerie silence has enveloped the Hughes family home. Grieving on the one year anniversary of their eldest boy’s tragic death, father, mother, sister and brother struggle to cope. While his absence affects each in their own way, they drift apart emotionally and physically growing further estranged with each passing day. Retiring that evening, ...

Read More »

Book Review: Sucker Punch – The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder – Author Zack Snyder

suckerpunch-art-of-film-by-Zack Snyder

It only makes sense that such a mesmerizing movie be represented with such an equally memorizing book. “Sucker Punch – The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder”, a release by Titan Books follows in the footsteps of their other great art book releases such as “The Art of Terminator” and “The Art of the film Watchmen“. Hard cover, bound ...

Read More »

Book Review: Storm Demon (The Jake Helman Files #5) – Author Gregory Lamberson


With the release of the fifth book in The Jake Helman Files, Storm Demon proves to be Gregory Lamberson’s next bestseller. The novel focuses on a new adventure that private eye, Jake Helman finds himself going on so that he can find a close friend of his who has gone missing. Like Gregory’s previous novels, Storm Demon focuses on the ...

Read More »

Book Review: Brew – Author Bill Braddock

BREW By: Bill Braddock Permuted Press Publishing 164 Pages Something has gone dreadfully awry in a college town ordinarily consumed in frat parties, football, cheerleaders and more parties. The carnage unleashed seems to pour from the very microbrewery the youths have known to come and love. Will there be any stopping the blood lust and mayhem unleashed or will everyone ...

Read More »

Book Review: The Summer Job – Author Adam Cesare

the summer job

Adam Cesare is the horror author that fans of horror movies should love. He’s already got a Deodato-style cannibal novel (Tribesmen), an homage to 1980’s horror (Video Night), and even a Creepshow-esque collaboration with Matt Serafini (author of the werewolf novel Feral) called All-Night Terror. He has also written for Fangoria, a little horror magazine that may be familiar to ...

Read More »