Book Reviews

Book Reviews

Something more specific? Choose from our selections:

Comic Book Reviews

Magazine Reviews

Includes novels, comics, magazines and all the latest releases - supernatural, controversy, crime, scary, sci-fi, ufo, new age.

We at HorrorNews.net love our horror literature! In fact, we've got more coming in than we can schedule time to read. None-the-less we are committed to getting your novels read, reviewed, and archived to share with the rest of the world. Don't trust the (often) marketed opinions of "Amazon" and "Wikipedia"?, That's ok, we have no Marketing agenda other than getting your product reviewed and listed

Our reviewers are comprised of authors, writers, and professional reviewers that will take the time to read your book, so that they can post an honest review.

For a List ONLY alphabetized view of Book Reviews- Click HERE

Book Review: Ouroboros – Author Michael Kelly & Carol Weekes

Ouroboros_sm

Ouroboros by Michael Kelly and Carol Weekes

In a small coastal town, an ancient force stirs, drawn by the cumulative power of life and death, grief and sorrow, and ultimately, endless love.

OUROBOROS – life out of death.

Tom Christiansen’s wife of 35-years, Dolly, is dead. His world suddenly shattered, Tom takes refuge in his house to grieve and reflect. Tom’s thin veil of reality and fantasy begins to crack … Continue reading

1 Comment

Book Review: The Rising – premiere issue

The_Rising_Issue-premier

The Rising premier issue. This new series is kept short and sweet at least on it’s debut issue. Right off the bat, readers will be blown away by the top notch artistry in this one.

The issue is light on text so much will have to be understood thru visuals. It appears that the military are at war wit the DRACS but back at home, there is a peace treaty being negotiated. … Continue reading

1 Comment

Book Review: Hotwire – Deepcut – Issue 1

Hotwire_DeepCut1

Looks like Alice Hotwire is back!  After living a recluse for 6 months and recovering from her spout with the “blues”, she is needed back on the force to deal with these ramped ghosts and specters. It also seems she has been keeping company with an old boyfriend  “blue” who really is against all she stands for.

Being super smart has been somewhat of a curse for Alice … Continue reading

1 Comment

Book Review: The Forbidden (Books of Blood Volumes 4-6) – Author Clive Barker

c3811

The Forbidden is one of the stand-out tales from Barker’s acclaimed Books of Blood series: a genre-redefining collection that prompted the horror high-priest Stephen King to proclaim breathlessly that ‘Clive Barker is so good I am almost literally tongue-tied.’ (For any horror fan not to have read these gory, otherworldly fables is a like a church-goer eschewing the New Testament.)

It’s the story that eventually morphed into celluloid slasher … Continue reading

1 Comment

Book Review: The Passage – Author Justin Cronin

The_Passage

Written by Justin Cronin
Published by: Ballantine Books

Publication Date: 2010
Format: Black / White – 784 pages
Price: $27.00

The most anticipated novel of this summer — and possibly all of 2010 — is Justin Cronin’s THE PASSAGE. Following the current trend of ‘vampire fiction’ he has penned an epic novel in the tradition of Stephen King’s THE STAND and Robert McCammon’s SWAN SONG. At 760+ pages, this epic tome … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Happiness Genes – Author James D. Baird

Happiness_Genes

Written by: James D. Baird (Author) (Author), Laurie Nadel (Author), Bruce Lipton (Foreword)
Published by New Page Books
Publication Date: 2010
Format: Black /White – 256 pages
Price: $15.99

Happiness Genes explores the basic premise of us as human beings. What thoughts influence our makeup, the cells within and the influence from our environment on our genetic makeup. Authors James D. Baird & Laurie Nadel explore this very … Continue reading

9 Comments

Book Review: Nightmare Tales – Author Todd Martin

Nightmare_Tales

Written by Todd Martin
Published by: Lightning Source Inc
Publication Date: 2010
Format: Black / White

Do you remember what got you into horror? Do you remember that first movie that scared you so bad you had to see it again and again? Do you remember the first time plain black words on a page frightened you to your core and made you want more? Well, Todd martin does … Continue reading

22 Comments

Book Review: The Sculptor – Author Gregory Funaro

The_Sculptor

Written by Gregory Funaro
Published by: Pinnacle Fiction
Publication Date: 2010
Format: Black / White – 385 pages
Price: $6.99

In 1981, Thomas Harris wrote a novel entitled “Red Dragon” and a monster was created. I’m not just referring to the character of Hannibal Lecter — who went on to star in three more Harris novels, most famously “The Silence Of the Lambs” — but the official birth of … Continue reading

1 Comment

Book Review: A Host Of Shadows – Author Harry Shannon

A Host Of Shadows_sm

A Host Of ShadowsHarry Shannon

“Everyone carries a shadow,” wrote analyst Carl Jung, “and the less it is embodied in the individual’s conscious life, the blacker and denser it is.”

Few of us see the shadow with any clarity. Turn around for a peek, it slips away. Our violent, sexually tinged fantasies are indulged regularly in darkened theaters, savored in eerie prose, celebrated in song, … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Dark Matters – Author Dr. Percy Seymour

darkmatters

DARK MATTERS: UNIFYING MATTER, DARK MATTER, DARK ENERGY, AND THE UNIVERSAL GRID (PAPERBACK)

by Dr. Percy Seymour
Published by New Page Books
Publication Date: 2008
Format: Black /White – 224 pages
Price: $15.99

Dark Matters is an intense book of science. Author Dr. Percy Seymour has laid out a road map to further explorations into understanding the tapestry of the universe. As it’s mentioned in summary, dark matter … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: PSIence – Author Marie D. Jones

psience

PSIENCE: HOW NEW DISCOVERIES IN QUANTUM PHYSICS AND NEW SCIENCE MAY EXPLAIN THE EXISTENCE OF PARANORMAL PHENOMENA (PAPERBACK)

by Marie D. Jones
Published by New Page Books
Publication Date: 2006
Format: Black /White – 255 pages
Price: $15.99

A fascinating book indeed. Marie D. Jones has authored many books. A few of which we’ll be reviewing on horrornews.net. She is no fluke as these researches and discoveries are … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: 11:11 The Time Prompt Phenomenon – Author Marie D. Jones | Larry Flaxman

1111

11:11 THE TIME PROMPT PHENOMENON: THE MEANING BEHIND MYSTERIOUS SIGNS, SEQUENCES, AND SYNCHRONICITIES (PAPERBACK)

by Marie D. Jones, Larry Flaxman
Published by New Page Books
Publication Date: 2009
Format: Black /White – 255 pages
Price: $15.99

11:11 What is the significance that demands a whole book, numerous web sites, mathematical studies, metaphysical reports and all sorts of phenomena associated with it that has brought theories, studies and reports … Continue reading

2 Comments

Book Review: The Deja Vu Enigma – Author Marie D. Jones | Larry Flaxman

Dejavu

THE DÉJÀ VU ENIGMA: A JOURNEY THROUGH THE ANOMALIES OF MIND, MEMORY AND TIME [PAPERBACK)

by Marie D. Jones, Larry Flaxman
Published by New Page Books
Publication Date: 2010
Format: Black /White – 256 pages
Price: $15.99

From the dynamic team of Marie D. Jones & Larry Flaxman who have brought us some many wonderful books on fringe subject matter, arrives their latest project titled: “The Deja vu … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Morning is Dead – Author Andersen Prunty

Morning-is-Dead

Written by Andersen Prunty
Published by: Grindhouse Press
Publication Date: 2010
Format: Black / White – 150 pages
Price: $12.95

Rarely are readers of horror given the opportunity to laugh while wanting to throw up in their mouths a little bit. “Zombie” fiction (and the term should be used lightly here, as the lumbering corpses are never referred to as capital Zs) tends to lean more towards … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Purpose Guided Universe – Author Bernard Haisch

Purpose_guided_universe

Written by Bernard Haisch
Published by New Page Books

Publication Date: 2010
Format: Black /White Hardcover – 222 pages
Price: $19.99

If anything is evident in modern culture, it’s that the discussions of God, science, Darwin and the meaning of life have risen to the forefront. This aspect has found it’s way into authors, films, and heavy radio discussion that all seem to root back to a basic … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Hiram Grange and the Digital Eucharist – Author Robert Davies

yhst-13511586845920_2101_481511

Robert Davies’s writing is more than just prose, more than words strung into sentences woven into ideas. More akin to poetry, his words ooze into one another, vibrating with beauty and horror in the dank pits of excavated body cavities. Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Hiram Grange and the 12 Little Hitlers – Author Scott Christian Carr

yhst-13511586845920_2096_3158319

Scott Christian Carr has balls. Big, hairy, hyper-inflated balls that he doesn’t mind showing off at every opportunity. Anyone who is willing to throw the attack on the Twin Towers and baby tentacle-rape at the reader in the friggin prologue has to. He doesn’t hold back anything and the effect is tremendous. By 7 pages in, you know that nothing and noone is safe from this man and his horrific dreams where laughter is mixed with blood-tainted vomit.
Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Every Sigh, the End – Author Jason S. Hornsby

medium-462

As melancholy as it is hateful. Misanthropic. Nihilistic. Fatalistic. Paranoid. A direct assault on our society and ourselves. Admittedly a tad pretentious. Damn did I get a kick out of getting my brain munched on by this asshole.
Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Science Was Wrong – Authors Stanton T. Friedman | Kathleen Marden

ScienceCoverSmall[1]

Can it be true? Is everything that we are fed not based on truth and does politics and agendas hold the real truth and motivation behind what we are led to believe? You betcha! Though those of us who are pro-active readers, have known that now for quite some time. However, its not too late to distill more facts and what they have led us to believe over the years. Authors Stanton … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Flowers In The Attic – Author Virginia Andrews

Flowers In The Attic film poster 1

Although she passed away in December 1986, Virginia Andrews‘ name lives on as one of the world’s biggest selling novelists, with over seventy million copies of her books and stories in print. Often described inaccurately as horror novels, her tales reveal the dark side of human nature, mixing Dickensian motivations with Gothic melodrama to create a hybrid fiction that has kept her worldwide audience (both male and female) on tenterhooks throughout … Continue reading

2 Comments

Book Review: Vampires in Pimptown – Author James H. Lucas

Vampires-in-Town

James H. Lucas is a funny guy. The first novel of his I read (An Undead Wedding) managed to poke fun at nearly everything you could think of about weddings and, well, the undead. Really everything between, as well. I chuckled out loud when I opened my mail and had the bright pink cover of Vampires in Pimptown staring back at me. Once I got home and dug into it I chuckled … Continue reading

2 Comments