Home | Book Reviews (page 4)
Hay Fever Horror

Book Reviews

Book Review: Dreams of the Dead – Author Jeremy Terry

Dreams-of-the-Dead-Jeremy-Terry

We all love zombies. We all subconsciously want to live long enough to see the apocalypse rising, so that we can get in touch with our own heroic self hidden somewhere deep inside our hearts and minds. It’s every boy’s dream and every girl’s horrible nightmare. Or so Jeremy Terry leads us to believe. Introducing a palette of characters entwined ...

Read More »

Book Review: The Zombie Film: From White Zombie to World War Z – Authors Alain Silver | James Ursini

Zombie-film-book-cover--Silver-Ursini

Published under Applause Books, arrives a brand new zombie filled edition by the name of “The Zombie Film: From White Zombie to World War”. Despite the last few years being pretty busy in the zombie publishing industry, This 384 page color book is more than a welcome new edition easily put many of the others to shame. In first look, ...

Read More »

Book Review: The Handy Science Answer Book – Author The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh

The-Handy-Science-Answer-Book-The-Carnegie-Library

I say this with complete honesty, “The Handy Science Answer Book” may be just one of the most interesting all around reads for any occasion. Whether you are a student, a professor, a trivia wiz or just a curious reader looking for quick information about subjects that might escape you, this book is really a treat in surprise. Packed full ...

Read More »

Book Review: The Government UFO Files: The Conspiracy of Cover-Up – Author Kevin D Randle

The-Government-UFO-Files-The-Conspiracy-of-Cover-Up-Book

Those 3 words that seem to re-surface time and time again should be plenty well familiar to us by now. It seems that as long as we are forced to stay in the dark on UFO reports and strange sightings that suggest otherwise, it is the voice of authors and publishers that continue to present the evidence and stories usually ...

Read More »

Book Review: The Remnant: Into the Collision – Author P. A. Douglas

The-Remnant---Into-the-Collision

The thing I really like about the stories of author P.A. Douglas, whether it be his Lovecraftian The Old One or his anti-establishment, bizarro novel Cucumber Punk, is that he knows how to hook you from the start and then keep your interest levels high all the way through to the final page. With The Remnant: Into the Collision, Douglas ...

Read More »

Book Review: Sixty-Five Stirrup Iron Road – Author Various

First things first, Sixty-Five Stirrup Iron Road is bigger than your average horror novel. When fellow author Tom Piccirilli (four time Bram Stoker award winner, author of The Last Kind Words, A Choir of Ill Children, etc…) ran into health problems and subsequent medical bills, some friends decided to lend a hand. And what better way to raise money than ...

Read More »

Book Review: Dead Hunger 6: The Gathering Storm – Author Eric A. Shelman

DEAD HUNGER VI: THE GATHERING STORM By: Eric A. Shelman Dolphin Moon Publishing 428 Pages “You never think of that crap do you? Civilization man. We take a lot of things for granted,” Punch. Life goes on for the small society that has come to know one another as family after the zombie apocalypse. While Flex, Gem, Hemp, Charlie, Trina ...

Read More »

Book Review: Food For Thought – Author Jessica McHugh

Food-For-Thought

To stand out in the indie publishing world, you not only have to put out quality work, but you often have to do something to grab people’s attention and get your name remembered. Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing (or PMMP, as the kids might be calling them) is doing just that, with a relatively new series they’re calling One-Night Stands. Rather ...

Read More »

Book Review: Ominous Realities – Editors Anthony Rivera | Sharon Lawson

Ominous-realities

OMINOUS REALITIES Edited by Anthony Rivera and Sharon Lawson Grey Matter Press 317 Pages A collection of sixteen tales with a common theme surrounding the twisted, macabre and often sinister tendencies in post-apocalyptic times: How To Make A Human By Martin Rose-A robot named Romeo Dyer learns there are consequences to playing God even after Armageddon. Angie By John F.D. ...

Read More »

Book Review: Wild and Wistful, Dark and Dreaming – Author Alethea Kontis

Princesses are not meant to pickup slimy, spit covered things from an animal’s mouth, especially if that animal is a scary ghost-demon wearing a crown of smoldering napalm. -“Diary of a Ghost’s Mistress” Before anything else is said, please note that both the title and cover art are at best uninspired and are not particularly representative of the contents. Remember ...

Read More »

Book Review: Gory Hole: A Horror Triple Bill – Author Craig Wallwork

Craig Wallwork is a writer with skills, an author of two novels (To Die Upon a Kiss and the much celebrated The Sound of Loneliness) as well as a short story collection (Quintessence of Dust). In April of this year, Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing will be releasing his newest effort, a chapbook in the tradition of Creepshow and Tales From ...

Read More »

Book Review: Fantastic Earth Destroyer Ultra Plus – Author Cameron Pierce

Sinister Grin Press is known for releasing some fantastically nasty, gruesome horror books from some equally fantastic and disturbing authors (Wrath James White, Nate Southard, Jack Ketchum, and Monica O’Rourke, to name just a few). So when I say that their newest release, Fantastic Earth Destroyer Ultra Plus, is an illustrated fairy tale for adults, don’t get the wrong idea. ...

Read More »

Book Review: The Road to Nowhere – Author Lee Argus

The-road-to-nowhere

THE ROAD TO NOWHERE By: Lee Argus Permuted Press Publishing 113 Pages A man awakens within the confines of a desolate, abandoned hospital only to realize he has amnesia. Struggling to stay alive he flees the institution while desperately trying to unravel the mystery of his past while thwarting the clutches of the walking dead infesting civilization. Will he unveil ...

Read More »

Book Review: The Little Boy Inside and Other Stories – Author Glenn Gray

The Little Boy Inside

The Little Boy Inside and Other Stories – by Glenn Gray Concord ePress, 2013 Hello, my name is Sean, and I sometimes suffer from what I have decided to call extreme hypochondria. It’s not a constant, and it’s not something that affects my daily life, but it is there nonetheless. It’s not that I always think I’m sick; on the ...

Read More »

Book Review: The New Black – Editor Richard Thomas

The New Black

The New Black – edited by Richard Thomas Dark House Press, 2014 Sometimes I forget that there are big-time, majors in the world of book publishing, because it seems like everything good is coming out of the indies. Between the titles coming out of established indies like Lazy Fascist Press, Sinister Grin Press, and Samhain Publishing (just to name a ...

Read More »