Book Reviews

Book Reviews

Something more specific? Choose from our selections:

Comic Book Reviews

Magazine Reviews

Includes novels, comics, magazines and all the latest releases - supernatural, controversy, crime, scary, sci-fi, ufo, new age.

We at HorrorNews.net love our horror literature! In fact, we've got more coming in than we can schedule time to read. None-the-less we are committed to getting your novels read, reviewed, and archived to share with the rest of the world. Don't trust the (often) marketed opinions of "Amazon" and "Wikipedia"?, That's ok, we have no Marketing agenda other than getting your product reviewed and listed

Our reviewers are comprised of authors, writers, and professional reviewers that will take the time to read your book, so that they can post an honest review.

For a List ONLY alphabetized view of Book Reviews- Click HERE

Book Review: Wild and Wistful, Dark and Dreaming – Author Alethea Kontis

Princesses are not meant to pickup slimy, spit covered things from an animal’s mouth, especially if that animal is a scary ghost-demon wearing a crown of smoldering napalm.

-“Diary of a Ghost’s Mistress”

Before anything else is said, please note that both the title and cover art are at best uninspired and are not particularly representative of the contents. Remember what momma said about books and covers, dearhearts.

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Gory Hole: A Horror Triple Bill – Author Craig Wallwork

Craig Wallwork is a writer with skills, an author of two novels (To Die Upon a Kiss and the much celebrated The Sound of Loneliness) as well as a short story collection (Quintessence of Dust). In April of this year, Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing will be releasing his newest effort, a chapbook in the tradition of Creepshow and Tales From the Darkside, called Gory Hole: A Horror Triple Bill. Within these pages lay three … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Fantastic Earth Destroyer Ultra Plus – Author Cameron Pierce

Sinister Grin Press is known for releasing some fantastically nasty, gruesome horror books from some equally fantastic and disturbing authors (Wrath James White, Nate Southard, Jack Ketchum, and Monica O’Rourke, to name just a few). So when I say that their newest release, Fantastic Earth Destroyer Ultra Plus, is an illustrated fairy tale for adults, don’t get the wrong idea.

The story is written by Cameron Pierce, who’s not only the head honcho over … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The First One You Expect – Author Adam Cesare

The First One You Expect – by Adam Cesare
Broken River Books, 2014

Horror writers beware! You know that idea for a story that has been kind of lingering in your head, the one where you take your favorite sub-genre of horror movie and turn it into a novel, and how excited you are because it hasn’t really been done yet and it’ll be your big splash into the horror fiction community? Well, … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Road to Nowhere – Author Lee Argus

The-road-to-nowhere

THE ROAD TO NOWHERE
By: Lee Argus
Permuted Press Publishing
113 Pages

A man awakens within the confines of a desolate, abandoned hospital only to realize he has amnesia. Struggling to stay alive he flees the institution while desperately trying to unravel the mystery of his past while thwarting the clutches of the walking dead infesting civilization. Will he unveil the answers he needs or will he be infinitely be lost … Continue reading

1 Comment

Book Review: The Little Boy Inside and Other Stories – Author Glenn Gray

The Little Boy Inside

The Little Boy Inside and Other Stories – by Glenn Gray
Concord ePress, 2013

Hello, my name is Sean, and I sometimes suffer from what I have decided to call extreme hypochondria. It’s not a constant, and it’s not something that affects my daily life, but it is there nonetheless. It’s not that I always think I’m sick; on the contrary, I’ve had a cough for what seems like months and I’m not … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The New Black – Editor Richard Thomas

The New Black

The New Black – edited by Richard Thomas
Dark House Press, 2014

Sometimes I forget that there are big-time, majors in the world of book publishing, because it seems like everything good is coming out of the indies. Between the titles coming out of established indies like Lazy Fascist Press, Sinister Grin Press, and Samhain Publishing (just to name a few), and the high-quality work coming from “new guys” like Broken River Books, … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Wide Game – Author Michael West

They hadn’t played the Wide Game. They had been played. He’d been a pawn on a chessboard, a toy soldier in a war fought for the amusement of obscene fates.

So many books and films have been made about high school reunions that it is hard to minimize their importance in the general culture of the United States. It’s almost an adult coming of age ritual, a time to face the joys and agonies … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Empire of the B’s – Author Dave Jay

EMPIRE OF THE B’S: THE MAD MOVIE WORLD OF CHARLES BAND
Author: Dave Jay
Hemlock Books

This is a wondrous book which needs to be purchased with the utmost urgency. An expansive, comprehensive and utterly engrossing work of cult film perfection, this is a definitive work on one of genre cinema’s greatest – and most debated – characters.

Covering the creation of the fabled Empire Studios, their own films and their pickup … Continue reading

3 Comments

Book Review: Clusterf*ck – Author Carlton Mellick III

clusterfuck

When it comes to Carlton Mellick III, I have difficulty deciding where to start. Clusterf*ck is one of five books released in 2013 by one of the most prolific authors of our time (including the highly praised Quicksand House), alongside five additional re-releases. Mellick has now released over forty books and shows no signs of slowing. He is often considered the real world Kilgore Trout (revisit Kurt Vonnegut’s works for that reference). The only thing … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Tankbread – Author Paul E Mannering

Tank-Bread-book-Cover

TANKBREAD
By: Paul E Mannering
Permuted Press Publishing
236 Pages

Society has certainly changed since the apocalypse. The few remaining humans in civilization have become either slaves or prey unto the reanimated corpses known as Evols. At the mercy of the undead one has the choice of either succumbing to the hands of zombies or becoming food.

Small town leader evol leader Soo-Yang strikes up a bargain with a messenger to go … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: December Park – Author Ronald Malfi

December-Park-Malfi

Ronald Malfi’s December Park is one of those books you can’t put down. It is filled with more chilling moments than anything that has come as of late. The book is well written and the characters of Angie and his friends are full of life. Ronald’s work delivers one of those blows to the horror industry. Though, December Park is a thriller, it is considered to be one of the best I have read. There … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Strangers – Author Michaelbrent Collings

Strangers-novel-review

STRANGERS
By Michaelbrent Collings
372 Pages

An eerie silence has enveloped the Hughes family home. Grieving on the one year anniversary of their eldest boy’s tragic death, father, mother, sister and brother struggle to cope. While his absence affects each in their own way, they drift apart emotionally and physically growing further estranged with each passing day.

Retiring that evening, each with a heavy heart, they next awaken to a terror beyond their … Continue reading

1 Comment

Book Review: Sucker Punch – The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder – Author Zack Snyder

suckerpunch-art-of-film-by-Zack Snyder

It only makes sense that such a mesmerizing movie be represented with such an equally memorizing book. “Sucker Punch – The Art of the Film by Zack Snyder”, a release by Titan Books follows in the footsteps of their other great art book releases such as “The Art of Terminator” and “Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Parasite – Author Mira Grant

13641105

If Dr. Cale was telling the truth about what she’d been able to do –and I had no reason to doubt her, even if Nathan wasn’t quite so sure- I was talking to a tapeworm that had been given full control of its very own human body. And that same tapeworm had been watching me sleep, just in case I had bad dreams.

 There is no doubt I’m a fan … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Storm Demon (The Jake Helman Files #5) – Author Gregory Lamberson

Storm-Demon-lamberson

With the release of the fifth book in The Jake Helman Files, Storm Demon proves to be Gregory Lamberson’s next bestseller. The novel focuses on a new adventure that private eye, Jake Helman finds himself going on so that he can find a close friend of his who has gone missing. Like Gregory’s previous novels, Storm Demon focuses on the supernatural where Jake Helman is up against his most formidable foe. The relationships Jake has … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Brew – Author Bill Braddock

BREW
By: Bill Braddock
Permuted Press Publishing
164 Pages

Something has gone dreadfully awry in a college town ordinarily consumed in frat parties, football, cheerleaders and more parties. The carnage unleashed seems to pour from the very microbrewery the youths have known to come and love. Will there be any stopping the blood lust and mayhem unleashed or will everyone eventually succumb to Brew?

Bill Braddock’s novella, Brew is an apocalyptic cavalcade … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Summer Job – Author Adam Cesare

the summer job

Adam Cesare is the horror author that fans of horror movies should love. He’s already got a Deodato-style cannibal novel (Tribesmen), an homage to 1980’s horror (Video Night), and even a Creepshow-esque collaboration with Matt Serafini (author of the werewolf novel Feral) called All-Night Terror. He has also written for Fangoria, a little horror magazine that may be familiar to some folks. And in January, 2014, Cesare will be unleashing upon the world of … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Cain’s Blood – Author Geoffrey Girard

cains blood

We, as a people, carry a bizarre obsession with serial and spree killers. My wife has a rather large section of our library dedicated to the subject and she is, by no means, alone in her focus. They seem to be a part of the American mythic collective, where we tend to view them as something significantly more, or less, than human. In our minds, they are monstrous, gigantic beings of … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Things Slip Through – Author Kevin Lucia

I’m starting to wonder what will happen if I keep staring at these words, what will happen if I keep reading them, what will happen to them, to me? Will they slide down onto the scuffed Formica tabletop, slither over to my hand, melt into my skin, ride my blood to my brain and burn themselves forever there?

Gary Braunbeck, in the intro to Fran Friel’s frankly ass … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Notes From the Guts of a Hippo – Author Grant Wamack

notes-from-the-guts-of-a-hippo

Notes From the Guts of a Hippo starts out in the tradition of any good action movie; fast, loud, and in your face. Jay Robbins, our protagonist, gets a call to drop everything and go to Brazil in search of a journalist who has disappeared while researching the Lastiz, a rare breed of hippopotamus. He jumps in a cab to head for the airport, but it is immediately smashed by a runaway truck. So he … Continue reading

Leave a comment