Book Reviews

Book Reviews

Something more specific? Choose from our selections:

Comic Book Reviews

Magazine Reviews

Includes novels, comics, magazines and all the latest releases - supernatural, controversy, crime, scary, sci-fi, ufo, new age.

We at HorrorNews.net love our horror literature! In fact, we've got more coming in than we can schedule time to read. None-the-less we are committed to getting your novels read, reviewed, and archived to share with the rest of the world. Don't trust the (often) marketed opinions of "Amazon" and "Wikipedia"?, That's ok, we have no Marketing agenda other than getting your product reviewed and listed

Our reviewers are comprised of authors, writers, and professional reviewers that will take the time to read your book, so that they can post an honest review.

For a List ONLY alphabetized view of Book Reviews- Click HERE

Book Review: The Zombie Film: From White Zombie to World War Z – Authors Alain Silver | James Ursini

Zombie-film-book-cover--Silver-Ursini

Published under Applause Books, arrives a brand new zombie filled edition by the name of “The Zombie Film: From White Zombie to World War”.

Despite the last few years being pretty busy in the zombie publishing industry, This 384 page color book is more than a welcome new edition easily put many of the others to shame. In first look, it’s filled with a number of great color photos on every page (450!!) with … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Handy Science Answer Book – Author The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh

The-Handy-Science-Answer-Book-The-Carnegie-Library

I say this with complete honesty, “The Handy Science Answer Book” may be just one of the most interesting all around reads for any occasion. Whether you are a student, a professor, a trivia wiz or just a curious reader looking for quick information about subjects that might escape you, this book is really a treat in surprise.

Packed full of tidbits of information, the science book tackles short snippets of information about “everything … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Government UFO Files: The Conspiracy of Cover-Up – Author Kevin D Randle

The-Government-UFO-Files-The-Conspiracy-of-Cover-Up-Book

Those 3 words that seem to re-surface time and time again should be plenty well familiar to us by now. It seems that as long as we are forced to stay in the dark on UFO reports and strange sightings that suggest otherwise, it is the voice of authors and publishers that continue to present the evidence and stories usually kept under wrap.

Visible Ink has long been one of those provides in the … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Remnant: Into the Collision – Author P. A. Douglas

The-Remnant---Into-the-Collision

The thing I really like about the stories of author P.A. Douglas, whether it be his Lovecraftian The Old One or his anti-establishment, bizarro novel Cucumber Punk, is that he knows how to hook you from the start and then keep your interest levels high all the way through to the final page. With The Remnant: Into the Collision, Douglas shows he’s only getting better with his sharp hooks and tension building devices.

In … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Sixty-Five Stirrup Iron Road – Author Various

sixty-five_stirrup_iron road

First things first, Sixty-Five Stirrup Iron Road is bigger than your average horror novel. When fellow author Tom Piccirilli (four time Bram Stoker award winner, author of The Last Kind Words, A Choir of Ill Children, etc…) ran into health problems and subsequent medical bills, some friends decided to lend a hand. And what better way to raise money than write a book and donate the profits to the cause? So, what we have … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Dead Hunger 6: The Gathering Storm – Author Eric A. Shelman

Dead-Hunger-GatheringStorm

DEAD HUNGER VI:
THE GATHERING STORM
By: Eric A. Shelman
Dolphin Moon Publishing
428 Pages

“You never think of that crap do you? Civilization man. We take a lot of things for granted,” Punch.

Life goes on for the small society that has come to know one another as family after the zombie apocalypse. While Flex, Gem, Hemp, Charlie, Trina and Taylor cope living in a world surrounded by rotters … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Food For Thought – Author Jessica McHugh

Food-For-Thought

To stand out in the indie publishing world, you not only have to put out quality work, but you often have to do something to grab people’s attention and get your name remembered. Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing (or PMMP, as the kids might be calling them) is doing just that, with a relatively new series they’re calling One-Night Stands. Rather than putting out a collection of various authors’ short stories, they are instead releasing … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Drunken Exorcist – Author K Trap Jones

tde

I usually have some snarky lead in, but could not come up with one here that did not come across as completely dickish. Make up one of your own, then place it here in your mind.

The Drunken Exorcist is the incredibly short tale of Father Schnitt, an exorcist who is drunk. I know, who could have seen that coming, eh. He found out early in his career 1.) that gentle, talk-based … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Ominous Realities – Editors Anthony Rivera | Sharon Lawson

Ominous-realities

OMINOUS REALITIES
Edited by Anthony Rivera and Sharon Lawson
Grey Matter Press
317 Pages

A collection of sixteen tales with a common theme surrounding the twisted, macabre and often sinister tendencies in post-apocalyptic times:

How To Make A Human By Martin Rose-A robot named Romeo Dyer learns there are consequences to playing God even after Armageddon.

Angie By John F.D. Taff-A bickering, estranged couple Dennis and Angie make a ghastly decision … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Wild and Wistful, Dark and Dreaming – Author Alethea Kontis

Princesses are not meant to pickup slimy, spit covered things from an animal’s mouth, especially if that animal is a scary ghost-demon wearing a crown of smoldering napalm.

-“Diary of a Ghost’s Mistress”

Before anything else is said, please note that both the title and cover art are at best uninspired and are not particularly representative of the contents. Remember what momma said about books and covers, dearhearts.

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Gory Hole: A Horror Triple Bill – Author Craig Wallwork

Craig Wallwork is a writer with skills, an author of two novels (To Die Upon a Kiss and the much celebrated The Sound of Loneliness) as well as a short story collection (Quintessence of Dust). In April of this year, Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing will be releasing his newest effort, a chapbook in the tradition of Creepshow and Tales From the Darkside, called Gory Hole: A Horror Triple Bill. Within these pages lay three … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Fantastic Earth Destroyer Ultra Plus – Author Cameron Pierce

Sinister Grin Press is known for releasing some fantastically nasty, gruesome horror books from some equally fantastic and disturbing authors (Wrath James White, Nate Southard, Jack Ketchum, and Monica O’Rourke, to name just a few). So when I say that their newest release, Fantastic Earth Destroyer Ultra Plus, is an illustrated fairy tale for adults, don’t get the wrong idea.

The story is written by Cameron Pierce, who’s not only the head honcho over … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The First One You Expect – Author Adam Cesare

The First One You Expect – by Adam Cesare
Broken River Books, 2014

Horror writers beware! You know that idea for a story that has been kind of lingering in your head, the one where you take your favorite sub-genre of horror movie and turn it into a novel, and how excited you are because it hasn’t really been done yet and it’ll be your big splash into the horror fiction community? Well, … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Road to Nowhere – Author Lee Argus

The-road-to-nowhere

THE ROAD TO NOWHERE
By: Lee Argus
Permuted Press Publishing
113 Pages

A man awakens within the confines of a desolate, abandoned hospital only to realize he has amnesia. Struggling to stay alive he flees the institution while desperately trying to unravel the mystery of his past while thwarting the clutches of the walking dead infesting civilization. Will he unveil the answers he needs or will he be infinitely be lost … Continue reading

1 Comment

Book Review: The Little Boy Inside and Other Stories – Author Glenn Gray

The Little Boy Inside

The Little Boy Inside and Other Stories – by Glenn Gray
Concord ePress, 2013

Hello, my name is Sean, and I sometimes suffer from what I have decided to call extreme hypochondria. It’s not a constant, and it’s not something that affects my daily life, but it is there nonetheless. It’s not that I always think I’m sick; on the contrary, I’ve had a cough for what seems like months and I’m not … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The New Black – Editor Richard Thomas

The New Black

The New Black – edited by Richard Thomas
Dark House Press, 2014

Sometimes I forget that there are big-time, majors in the world of book publishing, because it seems like everything good is coming out of the indies. Between the titles coming out of established indies like Lazy Fascist Press, Sinister Grin Press, and Samhain Publishing (just to name a few), and the high-quality work coming from “new guys” like Broken River Books, … Continue reading

Leave a comment