Author Archives: seanofthedead

Film Review: Lucker the Necrophagous (1986)

Lucker-the-Necrophagous-1986-Movie-Johan-Vandewoestijne-6

SYNOPSIS: A serial killer awakens from a coma and escapes from a mental hospital to kill a survivor of his slayings years ago, all the while stalking, terrifying, and killing women on the way. REVIEW: There are some movies that fall into the category of “cult classics” that you want on your shelf because they are simply amazing films, and there are others that you want just so that you have them. Lucker the Necrophagous, … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Interview: Erin Russ (Porkchop, Upsidedown Cross)

Erin-Russ-interview-2

HorrorNews: Describe Erin Russ in just a couple sentences. What is something you’d like us to know about you, and what is something we all NEED to know about you? Erin Russ: I’m a recluse. I’m very anti-social. My idea of fun is staying home and watching horror movies with my boyfriend, William Hellfire. The only outdoor activity I enjoy is hanging out in graveyards. I’m fascinated with death.

Leave a comment

Film Review: The Beast (La bĂŞte) (1975)

The-Beast-la-bete-1975-movie-Walerian-Borowczyk-7

SYNOPSIS: The head of a failing French family thinks that fate has smiled down on him when the daughter of a wealthy man agrees to be married to his son. The daughter and her aunt then travel out to the French countryside to meet with the family, unaware that a mysterious ‘beast’ is stalking the vicinity.  REVIEW: The Beast (La Bete) has one of those opening scenes that you will never forget, no matter how … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Food For Thought – Author Jessica McHugh

Food-For-Thought

To stand out in the indie publishing world, you not only have to put out quality work, but you often have to do something to grab people’s attention and get your name remembered. Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing (or PMMP, as the kids might be calling them) is doing just that, with a relatively new series they’re calling One-Night Stands. Rather than putting out a collection of various authors’ short stories, they are instead releasing one … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Film Review: The Devil (Diabel) (1972)

The-Devil-Diabel-1972-Movie-Andrzej-Zulawski-8

SYNOPSIS: During the Prussian army’s invasion to Poland in 1793, a young Polish nobleman Jakub is saved from the imprisonment by a stranger who wants in return to obtain a list of Jakub’s fellow conspirators. Following his mysterious saviour across the country, Jakub sees the overall chaos and moral corruption including his father’s death and his girlfriend’s betrayal. Being apparently demented by what he has seen, he commits a number of seemingly motiveless and gory … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Film Review: Beyond the Darkness (Buio Omega) (1979)

Beyond-the-Darkness-Buio-Omega-1979-Movie-3

SYNOPSIS: A young rich orphan loses his fiancĂ©e to voodoo doll mischief on the part of his housekeeper who is jealous of his attentions. He digs his girlfriend up, cleans her out, stuffs her, and puts her in bed at the mansion. Following this, he tries out and disposes of a series of young maidens, trying to find the right replacement for her, and the disapproving housekeeper helps him with the disposals. REVIEW: When I … Continue reading

1 Comment

Film Review: Porcile (1969)

Porcile-1969-Movie-Pier-Paolo-Pasolini-4

SYNOPSIS: Two dramatic stories. In an undetermined past, a young cannibal (who killed his own father) is condemned to be torn to pieces by some wild beasts. In the second story, Julian, the young son of a post-war German industrialist, is on the way to lie down with his farm’s pigs, because he doesn’t like human relationships. REVIEW:

1 Comment

Book Review: Gory Hole: A Horror Triple Bill – Author Craig Wallwork

Craig Wallwork is a writer with skills, an author of two novels (To Die Upon a Kiss and the much celebrated The Sound of Loneliness) as well as a short story collection (Quintessence of Dust). In April of this year, Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing will be releasing his newest effort, a chapbook in the tradition of Creepshow and Tales From the Darkside, called Gory Hole: A Horror Triple Bill. Within these pages lay three intense, … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Fantastic Earth Destroyer Ultra Plus – Author Cameron Pierce

Sinister Grin Press is known for releasing some fantastically nasty, gruesome horror books from some equally fantastic and disturbing authors (Wrath James White, Nate Southard, Jack Ketchum, and Monica O’Rourke, to name just a few). So when I say that their newest release, Fantastic Earth Destroyer Ultra Plus, is an illustrated fairy tale for adults, don’t get the wrong idea. The story is written by Cameron Pierce, who’s not only the head honcho over at … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The First One You Expect – Author Adam Cesare

The First One You Expect – by Adam Cesare Broken River Books, 2014 Horror writers beware! You know that idea for a story that has been kind of lingering in your head, the one where you take your favorite sub-genre of horror movie and turn it into a novel, and how excited you are because it hasn’t really been done yet and it’ll be your big splash into the horror fiction community? Well, my friends, … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Film Review: Dard Divorce (2007)

Dard-Divorce-2007-Movie-Olaf-Ittenbach-3

SYNOPSIS: What started with a routine divorce between Natalie Stein and her husband Tim, will soon take a turn into the unexpected and evolve into scenes of torture, bloodshed and slaughter. REVIEW: You’ve got to hand it to the German horror movie-makers, they know what they’re doing and constantly pushing the envelope. No matter the budget (or the quality), there’s a certain level of extreme horror that we’ve come to expect from the films made … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Film Review: The Last House in the Woods (2006)

lasthouseinthewoods_movie_7

SYNOPSIS: Young lovers escape a group of bullies seeking to harm them and then take refuge with a seemingly kind older couple. All too late, we discover that this older pair has a dark hidden secret which unfolds in the quiet, secluded Last House in the Woods. REVIEW: There are plenty of examples of exploitation films where the poster and advertising end up better than the movie itself. With The Last House In the Woods, … Continue reading

2 Comments

Book Review: The Little Boy Inside and Other Stories – Author Glenn Gray

The Little Boy Inside

The Little Boy Inside and Other Stories – by Glenn Gray Concord ePress, 2013 Hello, my name is Sean, and I sometimes suffer from what I have decided to call extreme hypochondria. It’s not a constant, and it’s not something that affects my daily life, but it is there nonetheless. It’s not that I always think I’m sick; on the contrary, I’ve had a cough for what seems like months and I’m not one bit … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The New Black – Editor Richard Thomas

The New Black

The New Black – edited by Richard Thomas Dark House Press, 2014 Sometimes I forget that there are big-time, majors in the world of book publishing, because it seems like everything good is coming out of the indies. Between the titles coming out of established indies like Lazy Fascist Press, Sinister Grin Press, and Samhain Publishing (just to name a few), and the high-quality work coming from “new guys” like Broken River Books, Bizarro Pulp … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Film Review: Nutbag (2000)

Nutbag-2000-Movie-6

SYNOPSIS: A serial killer stalks prostitutes on the mean streets of Las Vegas. REVIEW: It is sometimes said that in an author’s first work, he or she often ends up spinning a highly personal and highly autobiographical tale as their inexperience can cause them to (inadvertently) fall back on what they know. I don’t know how this theorem translates over to film, but let’s hope Nutbag is all the product of the director’s (unoriginal) imagination. … Continue reading

6 Comments

Book Review: Clusterf*ck – Author Carlton Mellick III

clusterfuck

When it comes to Carlton Mellick III, I have difficulty deciding where to start. Clusterf*ck is one of five books released in 2013 by one of the most prolific authors of our time (including the highly praised Quicksand House), alongside five additional re-releases. Mellick has now released over forty books and shows no signs of slowing. He is often considered the real world Kilgore Trout (revisit Kurt Vonnegut’s works for that reference). The only thing … Continue reading

Leave a comment

About seanofthedead

In 1987, after hearing Poison’s “Look What the Cat Dragged In” for the first time, Sean decided he wanted to play drums. After realizing all rock stars wore leather pants, he traded in his dreams of fortune and fame for 80’s sitcoms, horror movies, and punk rock. Sean has spent his recent years trying to recover from Catholic guilt while searching for an idea worth writing.