Home | Anton Cancre (page 6)

Anton Cancre

Anton Cancre is one of those rotting, pus-filled thingies on the underside of humanity that your mother always warned you about. He has oozed symbolic word-farms onto the pages of DEAD SOULS, THE GHOST IS THE MACHINE and D.O.A. II as well as continuing to vomit his oh-so-astute literary opinions, random thoughts and nonsense at antoncancre.blogspot.com and evisceratingpen.wordpress.com. No, he will most definitely not watch your pet shoggoth this weekend, but he is interested in taking that new brain case for a spin through the cosmos.
Connect with me on Google+

Book Review: Writer’s Workshop of Horror – Author Michael Knost

Writers_workshop_of_horror

WRITER’S WORKSHOP OF HORROR Author Michael Knost Published by Woodland Press Publication Date: 2009 Format: color Price: $21.95 So, you want to be a horror writer or already consider yourself one. You’ve been a fan of horror literature for longer than you can remember, maybe starting off with King, maybe Barker, Bloch or Laymon. Maybe you’ve read enough that you’ve ...

Read More »

Book Review: What Giants were Saying – Author David Rix

What_the_Giants_were_saying

WHAT THE GIANTS WERE SAYING Author David Rix Published by Eibonvale Press Publication Date: 2009 Format: Black /White – 216 pages Price: $12.75 “When pain doesn’t matter, do we cease to fear it? Does it just become another sensation? I wonder. Can you experience pain that goes somehow completely beyond pain – beyond a world where pain has meaning? It ...

Read More »

Book Review: Still – Author Charlee Jacob

Still

STILL Author Charlee Jacob Published by Necro Publications Publication Date: 2007 Format: Black /White – 342 pages Price: $19.95 “Photograph. Snapshot (Shot). Still. Still. Silent. Dead. Still. Still Life. Still Death. He did know that the dictionary definition of ‘still life’ referred to a portrait of inanimate objects- flowers, fruit, furniture. Nothing alive, that is. And it cut him to ...

Read More »

Book Review: Stay Dead – The Stranger and Tunnel Rats – Author Steve Wands

Stay_Dead_The_stranger_and_tunnel_rats

STAY DEAD: THE STRANGER AND TUNNEL RATS Author Steve Wands Published by Apparatus Revolution Publication Date: 2009 Format: Black & White – 46 pages Price: $4.99 for hard copy, free for download “They had the sickness. At least that’s what some people were calling it, as if a bottle of cough syrup would set you right again. Jennifer—unsure of how ...

Read More »

Book Review: Night of the Living Dead – Author Joe Kane

56442360

With this book (hyperbolicly subtitled Behind the Scenes of the Most Terrifying Zombie Movie Ever) , Joe “Phantom of the Movies” Kane gives us a thorough and comprehensive look behind the scenes that, while heavily peppered with opinion and conjecture, makes an interesting and edifying read for anyone obsessed or even interested in Romero’s gut munching classic. Plus, they throw in John Russo’s original screen play as a gift for completists, as well as testimonials from some of films great names like Frank Hennenlotter and Peter Jackson.

Read More »

Book Review: Bite Marks, A Vampire Testament – Author Terrence Taylor

BITE-MARKS

BITE MARKS: A VAMPIRE TESTAMENT (PAPERBACK) Written by Terrence Taylor Published by St. Martin’s Griffin Publication Date: 2009 Format: Black /White – 400 pages Price: $14.99 “‘Everybody loves vampires!’ Lori didn’t. She didn’t see the mystery and glamour everyone else did, just thinly veiled sadomasochism, fake fangs, and mechanical bats.” Blame Anne Rice. Blame Anita Blake. Blame Stephanie Meyer. Blame ...

Read More »

Book Review: Eleven Twenty-Three – Author Jason Hornsby

Eleven-Twenty-Three

“Lily’s End, which before this morning had not seen a murder in two years, suddenly embodies the tyranny of third world countries. A post-war wasteland. A curfew at sundown. The silent hillside following a suicidal battle where the victors lie in fly-covered heaps not far from the carcasses of the armies they’ve defeated. Less than an hour ago, it was ...

Read More »

Book Review: Abominations – Author Tim Deal

abominations

17 SPINE-TINGLING TALES OF MURDEROUS MONSTERS AND HORRIFIC CREATURES (PAPERBACK) Edited by Tim Deal Published by Shroud Publications Publication Date: 2008 Format: Black /White – 238 pages Price: $14.95 I miss monsters in horror. Not evil people doing screwed up meany-guy or -girl stuff, but gigantic goopy masses of sludge slouching their way into my safe little town. Yes, realistic ...

Read More »

Book Review: Hiram Grange and the 12 Little Hitlers – Author Scott Christian Carr

yhst-13511586845920_2096_3158319

Scott Christian Carr has balls. Big, hairy, hyper-inflated balls that he doesn't mind showing off at every opportunity. Anyone who is willing to throw the attack on the Twin Towers and baby tentacle-rape at the reader in the friggin prologue has to. He doesn't hold back anything and the effect is tremendous. By 7 pages in, you know that nothing and noone is safe from this man and his horrific dreams where laughter is mixed with blood-tainted vomit.

Read More »

Book Review: Hiram Grange and the Nymphs of Krakow – Author Richard Wright

yhst-13511586845920_2112_0

Well, ye olde boyles and ghouls, this is it. The last chapter of the first volume, the last episode of the first season of Shroud’s flagship franchise: Hiram Grange. You know what you know by this point and your opinion of the series is likely already set (God knows I’ve made my own clear enough). The main question at this ...

Read More »

Book Review: Futile Efforts – Author Tom Piccirilli

Futileefforts

  Futile Efforts By Tom Piccirilli Published: 2010 Publisher: Cemetery Dance Publications Cost: $40 “The dog is chewing into his chest, about to crack through the breastbone and get to the thick meat of his heart inside. Lash took the little bastard in because it was shivering under an abandoned Chevy with six saturated tickets beneath a busted wiper, rain ...

Read More »

Context 23

Content_23_2009_clip_image012

Context 23: Another year, another Context and all is right with the world for at least a couple days. For those who don’t know, Context is an annual speculative fiction convention in Columbus, Ohio. Basically, it is an opportunity for fans of Fantasy, Sci-Fi and, of course, Horror fiction to spend a weekend geeking out along with authors, publishers and ...

Read More »