Author Archives: Anton Cancre

Book Review: Night of the Living Dead – Author Joe Kane

56442360

With this book (hyperbolicly subtitled Behind the Scenes of the Most Terrifying Zombie Movie Ever) , Joe “Phantom of the Movies” Kane gives us a thorough and comprehensive look behind the scenes that, while heavily peppered with opinion and conjecture, makes an interesting and edifying read for anyone obsessed or even interested in Romero’s gut munching classic. Plus, they throw in John Russo’s original screen play as a gift for completists, as well as testimonials from some of films great names like Frank Hennenlotter and Peter Jackson. Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Chimeric Machines – Author Lucy A. Snyder

Chimeric_Machines

CHIMERIC MACHINES Written by Lucy A. Snyder Published by Creative Guy Publishing Publication Date: 2009 Format: B&W – 92 pages Price: $10.95 “You sigh, suffer mutely, stare at the tube, pray for the weather and ponder the razor.” Sometimes, as someone with a varied taste in my word soups, I find myself in a bit of a quagmire as a reviewer. After all, this is a horror site and you, the fine readership of said … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Boneshaker – Author Cherie Priest

Boneshaker

BONESHAKER Written by Cherie Priest Published by: TOR Books Publication Date: 2009 Format: Black /White – 416 pages Price: $15.99 “The Naamah Darling drifted past the station’s clock tower a little too close for comfort. The blank face of a clock as big as a bedroom stared dully back at them, no mechanisms to make it keep the time and no hands to display it. I t was a ghost of something that had never … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Bite Marks, A Vampire Testament – Author Terrence Taylor

BITE-MARKS

BITE MARKS: A VAMPIRE TESTAMENT (PAPERBACK) Written by Terrence Taylor Published by St. Martin’s Griffin Publication Date: 2009 Format: Black /White – 400 pages Price: $14.99 “‘Everybody loves vampires!’ Lori didn’t. She didn’t see the mystery and glamour everyone else did, just thinly veiled sadomasochism, fake fangs, and mechanical bats.” Blame Anne Rice. Blame Anita Blake. Blame Stephanie Meyer. Blame whatever cheap, over-romanticized franchise you wish, but damn do I hate vampires. I was honestly … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Eleven Twenty-Three – Author Jason Hornsby

Eleven-Twenty-Three

“Lily’s End, which before this morning had not seen a murder in two years, suddenly embodies the tyranny of third world countries. A post-war wasteland. A curfew at sundown. The silent hillside following a suicidal battle where the victors lie in fly-covered heaps not far from the carcasses of the armies they’ve defeated. Less than an hour ago, it was simply a dull beach-town, a Norman Rockwell painting. It was a nice place to live. … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Abominations – Author Tim Deal

abominations

17 SPINE-TINGLING TALES OF MURDEROUS MONSTERS AND HORRIFIC CREATURES (PAPERBACK) Edited by Tim Deal Published by Shroud Publications Publication Date: 2008 Format: Black /White – 238 pages Price: $14.95 I miss monsters in horror. Not evil people doing screwed up meany-guy or -girl stuff, but gigantic goopy masses of sludge slouching their way into my safe little town. Yes, realistic horror is more frightening and certainly more disturbing but I also like to escape via … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: The Dead Letters – Author Tom Piccirillli

The_Dead_Letters

Written by Tom Piccirillli Published by Medallion Press Publication Date: 2006 Format: Black /White – 350 pages Price: $5.99 So Eddie Whitt was just this guy, you know. An average schlub with the wife and kid and cozy little house in the suburbs, growing a tad chubby and living a life of that calm happiness that is completely overlooked by everyone who has it. Then a madman, some piece of sh*t came and smothered the … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Hiram Grange and the Digital Eucharist – Author Robert Davies

yhst-13511586845920_2101_481511

Robert Davies’s writing is more than just prose, more than words strung into sentences woven into ideas. More akin to poetry, his words ooze into one another, vibrating with beauty and horror in the dank pits of excavated body cavities. Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Hiram Grange and the 12 Little Hitlers – Author Scott Christian Carr

yhst-13511586845920_2096_3158319

Scott Christian Carr has balls. Big, hairy, hyper-inflated balls that he doesn’t mind showing off at every opportunity. Anyone who is willing to throw the attack on the Twin Towers and baby tentacle-rape at the reader in the friggin prologue has to. He doesn’t hold back anything and the effect is tremendous. By 7 pages in, you know that nothing and noone is safe from this man and his horrific dreams where laughter is mixed with blood-tainted vomit.
Continue reading

Leave a comment

Magazine Review: Necrotic Tissue – Issue 11

NT11Cover

Some of the pieces could have been better than they turned out, too much of the best work was crammed into the back and I don’t completely agree with the editor’s pick. But I was introduced some new people I want to keep an eye on and got some more from author’s I’ve liked in the past. That’s what I buy these magazines for. Continue reading

1 Comment

Book Review: Every Sigh, the End – Author Jason S. Hornsby

medium-462

As melancholy as it is hateful. Misanthropic. Nihilistic. Fatalistic. Paranoid. A direct assault on our society and ourselves. Admittedly a tad pretentious. Damn did I get a kick out of getting my brain munched on by this asshole.
Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Hiram Grange and the Chosen One – Author Kevin Lucia

yhst

Several reviews of Hiram Grange and the Village of the Damned mentioned how tough it is to start a series, but I disagree. The person who starts it gets to set all the rules, they’re the one who sets the stage for everyone else that follows. With no expectations, they have free reign with the material, characters and their approach to dealing with them. Even the person writing the second one has a fair amount … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Hiram Grange and the Nymphs of Krakow – Author Richard Wright

yhst-13511586845920_2112_0

Well, ye olde boyles and ghouls, this is it. The last chapter of the first volume, the last episode of the first season of Shroud’s flagship franchise: Hiram Grange. You know what you know by this point and your opinion of the series is likely already set (God knows I’ve made my own clear enough). The main question at this point is a simple one: Does Nymphs live up to the reputation? Of course it … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Book Review: Futile Efforts – Author Tom Piccirilli

Futileefforts

  Futile Efforts By Tom Piccirilli Published: 2010 Publisher: Cemetery Dance Publications Cost: $40 “The dog is chewing into his chest, about to crack through the breastbone and get to the thick meat of his heart inside. Lash took the little bastard in because it was shivering under an abandoned Chevy with six saturated tickets beneath a busted wiper, rain sluicing off the hood and running high in the gutter. Three distended bodies stacked face … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Context 23

Content_23_2009_clip_image012

Context 23: Another year, another Context and all is right with the world for at least a couple days. For those who don’t know, Context is an annual speculative fiction convention in Columbus, Ohio. Basically, it is an opportunity for fans of Fantasy, Sci-Fi and, of course, Horror fiction to spend a weekend geeking out along with authors, publishers and other professionals related to spec-fic. I won’t bother saying that it is an excuse to … Continue reading

Leave a comment

About Anton Cancre

Anton Cancre is one of those rotting, pus-filled thingies on the underside of humanity that your mother always warned you about. He has oozed symbolic word-farms onto the pages of DEAD SOULS, THE GHOST IS THE MACHINE and D.O.A. II as well as continuing to vomit his oh-so-astute literary opinions, random thoughts and nonsense at antoncancre.blogspot.com. No, he will most definitely not watch your pet shoggoth this weekend, but he is interested in taking that new brain case for a spin through the cosmos.
Connect with me on Google+